Haiku Redo 49-52

Searching

Is this all there is

just going through the motions

searching we all are

Wanderlust

Travel near and far

wanderlust keeps me going

never see it all

Mirage

I thought I saw you

I ran but there was no one

chasing a mirage

  Moon Lit

the moon lit the room

through open windows it shone

my man was smiling

©2016 Kathleen Stefani and Combing  The Catacombs. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express written permission from the site’s author is strictly forbidden.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to, Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

30 thoughts on “Haiku Redo 49-52

      1. Interesting! Titles can add a whole new dimension to a piece when executed right, thats always the hard part…the magic part…I also wanted to mention I liked the classical feel of all of them with their modern and personal twist

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Thank you for your that. I have some more I have to put up, but I have been hesitating because I didn’t feel they were as good, as what I had already posted, but I am going to go back and put titles on them, so that will be a challenge. You brought up an interesting point, that I had not even thought of. Thank you again for your kind words. It makes me want to write more.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations on another award! Well done again!! 🙂 I love your haiku. What do you think:

    Is this all there is?
    Wanderlust keeps me going
    Chasing a mirage

    I’ve been cheeky and played around with your haiku. I hope you don’t mind. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No I don’t mind, these are easy to work with. I would have to go back and re-read it, but I have been offered suggestions before. I took the advice for one, but I don’t think you are supposed to use contractions.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, I agree: no contractions! It’s good to hear what others have to say though, but it’s not always necessary to act on it. I am pleased (personally) if people point out things that I did not see: it’s another perspective which can be enlightening.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. You are actually taking lines form the two, which would work I think just as well as what I have written, but then I have to change the other. I think they are fun. I re-read them and want to change them all the time. I like your suggestion.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so happy that you weren’t offended by me experimenting with your words. It was fun to take different lines from each of them and see the different forms and meanings. And of course your original poems were fantastic! I loved them. I also loved the way they followed on from one another to make a longer poem if you wanted it to be that way.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Marie. I was recently told that they are supposed to have titles. I didn’t know that, I should have, I mean it makes sense. I think I was being lazy. I will give them titles. I was doing those for quite awhile and have some more I haven’t put up, because I feel the quality isn’t that high. I appreciate your comment. I liked that one too, some of them I have a problem with. I could imagine this one. I am glad you got something out of it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t even notice that there were no titles Kathy! Yes it does make sense to have a title so that you can refer back to them and differentiate between them. The titles don’t have to be lengthy either: your poem about the moon shining into the room could simply be called ‘Moon’, I suppose. And the one with ‘mirage’ in one of the lines could be ‘Mirage’ – it’s a simple as that. 🙂
        Are you a perfectionist Kathy? This is the second time you have mentioned the quality of your work. Your haiku is really very good, you know.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Marie, no I am not bothered or offended about it at all. I think it was pretty cool. I would not have thought of interchanging them. I am going to a writers meet up, and I submitted my first submissions, which I was pointed out what the members thought needed work. I have changed some things on some of ,my pieces and am sure I will change more. I had a very hard time with critiquing their work. I missed everything that everyone else caught. I was confused by a lot of the writing and couldn’t follow it. I guess it is hard to relate to things if you don’t have an interest in them or can’t relate, but I should be able to separate that.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Kathy. I think poetry is a matter of personal taste. There is no right or wrong way about appreciating poetry/writing. I do agree that there is a certain formula to adhere to when writing, but as long as it is written so that you can understand it or get meaning from it, then it is a matter of taste whether the writing is good or not. Not everyone writes well and there are some celebrated writers that I can’t read their work because it doesn’t appeal to me: it’s not because it isn’t superb, but simply because it doesn’t resonate with me.
        I wouldn’t worry too much about ‘missing’ things, maybe your take on it was not the same as others.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree Marie. I know the titles can be simple, and some maybe to make it a little more interesting, can be a little deeper. I realized not to long ago, I used the moon twice. I try to avoid using the same subject. I think I am a perfectionist, but I would say, I am more insecure about whatever talent I may or may not have. That is one of my struggles in life as well. How good I am and what people think. Low self esteem.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kathy I hope you don’t mind me referring you to another blogger’s website which has helped me greatly with my low self esteem? I don’t know if you have come across Anna Waldherr : avoicereclaimed. She writes mostly about childhood abuse and its effects. I am not suggesting that you were abused, but Anna does talk about self-esteem and I wonder if it might help to read some of her posts. Her latest post is on ‘rejection’ if I remember correctly.
      If you care to read her, then if you go to my blog and look at ‘blogs I follow’ you should see her name there and you can click on it.
      I hope you are not offended by my suggestion: just trying to reach out to help in any way I can. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, there are some things about the poetry they were trying to explain to me, regarding rhyme and meter, and I didn’t really understand the part about syllables. They were saying they were instances where the lines were just separate sentences, some did not flow, into the other, the other critique was that some of the lines seemed forced to fit the rhymes. I didn’t see all that when I wrote them, so I need to take that advice, but I m the kind of person who usually sticks to the same pattern, that’s not a good thing.
    Yes I was worried about not noticing what others did, I felt like I am nowhere in the same league as they were. I didn’t really get a good education, my choosing, and my mistake, so I missed out on a lot. I dropped out as soon as I turned 16.
    I agree about some famous writers, I can’t read their work. I just don’t like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. No thank you very much for the suggestion. I will go to her page and follow her. I like those kind of blogs that are personal, and relates peoples experiences, good and bad. I don’t get offended easily, and you are extending a hand so I have no problems with you making any suggestions.
    I was not abused as a child. I just had bad relationships, and the esteem issue since I was a kid. I was always quiet and backward when I was young. I also stuttered. Sometimes that still happens when I get nervous or find myself in uncomfortable situations.
    I will check her blog out now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

