I’ve been tagged! This or That Book Tag

this or that Book Tag logo

This is the first time I have been nominated or recognized, so it means a lot to me. I feel like I have arrived and have been accepted by my fellow bloggers. This should be an interesting and challenging project. The answers are going to be tough.

Special thanks go to the very fine and talented writer/poet Shayma. Her blog,  Shayma, Deep Thoughts, Split Ink, nominated me for, “this or that book tag”, created by Ayunda at, Tea And Paperbacks.

I recommend their sites for captivating and stirring works of creativity. You wont be disappointed by the contents. Get set to share in all the emotions and feeling that they so beautifully paint with their words.

Thank you Shayma & Ayunda.

  • Questions:

    1. Reading on the couch or in the bed?

    I have always liked to read in bed, sitting up. I have always done most of my reading at night when it is peaceful and quiet. I don’t like the distractions of the day time, lawn mowers, cars, screaming kids outside and family in the   house making racket.

  • I can not get comfortable on the couch. I want to be relaxed. I don’t do it anymore, but I used to read until daylight and then go to bed. My mom would be reading romance novels at the kitchen table.

    2.  Main Male Character, or Main Female Character?

    I would have to say male, maybe I can learn something about those mysterious creatures that play such an important part in our lives.

    3.  Sweet Snacks or Salty Snacks?

    Easy one; sweet. I have a sweet tooth, and always have. Also need something to drink.  There have been times I have had salty snacks, but I try to avoid them because I don’t want the pages of the book to get dirty from greasy hands. Imagine reading and eating Cheetos.

    4. Trilogies or Quartets?

    That would have to be trilogies. I haven’t really read a quartet series. although I wish some series would have gone on further.

    5.  First Person POV Or Third Person POV?

    All of these questions are really difficult to answer, because in some cases my opinion     would be different. I’m not the type of person to limit myself to any set style. In this           case I would go with first person, because you are that person when you are reading.       Third person can be as effective depending on the subject, but it is an entirely different     perspective.

   

    6.  Reading At Night Or In The Morning?

     I think I already answered that one, on number 1. Night time. I find it hard to                        concentrate in the day time. I unwind at night with a book. I will do light reading                during the day, such as newspapers and magazines. My favorite book, is by Thomas        Wolfe. “Look Homeward  Angel”. He was able to capture something special about the        night, that made a deep impression on me, and has stayed with me for years.

   

    7.  Libraries or Bookstores?

     I used to be a library reader. I spent many days going to the local library. I probably          knew it as good as the on duty librarian. Now it would be bookstores. I love all                    bookstores, but I prefer a nice, good-sized used one. I usually sit on the floor between      the shelves and get up if someone comes down the aisle. I used to do that at the                library too. I make it a point to visit libraries and used book stores when I am                      traveling. I also check out the Salvation Army, flea markets, and garage sales. Dollar         Tree has a section of dollar books. I like a good deal.

   

    8.  Books That Make You Laugh Or Books That Make You Cry?

    Books that make me cry. I can usually relate to those better. I want to go through the         emotions of the writer. I think all good stories, like life itself have happy and sad. It           doesn’t even have to be a sad book to make me cry.

   

9.  Black Book Cover Or White Book Covers?

 This one is hard, but I will have to say black. Black to me represents the dark, death, the  unknown or bad, but the night is dark, I am attracted to the night. What black represents  has a counterpart in white. In order to appreciate or understand the white, you have to      experience the dark, and confront your fears. White lettering would represent that light.

 

10. Character Driven Series or Plot Driven Series?

Tough again. How can you have one without the other?  I like character studies, so that would be my immediate answer. There are a lot of good books, that don’t necessarily have  a plot, but they have to have characters. Ideally the plot and characters would complement  each other, leading to a story that is deeper and more satisfying.

this or that Book Tag logo  My Nominees

1. SheryL_

2. Sabiscuit

3. Niall O’Donnell

4. misstalkaholic

5. applebitsblog

6. Mithai Mumblezz

7. deverauxfrazier

8. Woven Eclipse

9. A Silent Spectator

10. anotherbrokenshoe

A thank you to all who choose to participate. I know I haven’t been responding to a lot of you lately. I am just trying to catch up with everyone. I will get to you soon I hope. If anyone chooses not to participate, that is fine.

books

28 thoughts on “I’ve been tagged! This or That Book Tag

    1. Thanks Dean, I was thinking of asking you, but I didn’t know if you would want to do it.. In fact you were on of my first choices. I also didn’t know how you felt about these kind of things. I do like the recognition. I find it hard to take myself seriously sometimes, or if what I write matters. I have been writing lighter stuff, as I have been getting slack for some of my views.

      Like

  1. It was the first one I had. I had difficulty doing it. I didn’t know who to nominate, you don’t have to participate. I was trying to think of the people that commented the most often on my page. If you would like to pass on any that would be fine, I like some of them. The problem is finding people to nominate.

    Like

    1. Yes, I started haiku again, after realizing me earlier attempts were not done correctly. I have hada pretty good run with them, but now I am finding it harder to do them. I want them to be good, and I feel that the ones I am working on now are not good enough. I have been suffering writers block, I hope I can get over it soon, and start writing more.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks again Hemangini, this was my first attempt at something like this. The questions were tough, because I had to choose one over another, and that wasn’t easy with these questions. I liked doing it, and putting more of myself out there for people to get to know me better.

    Like

      1. Yes. You have to notify them to be doubly sure they got the hint. You could do that by mail or leaving a message in the comment section of one of their posts (preferably the most recent). Answering is entirely their choice and the time they decide to post it too is.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Mithai, I really appreciate your comments, thanks for all the love. I was trying to think of 10 people who would do it and that were great writers that I followed. I haven’t been doing to much lately. I need to get back with it. I haven’t even been reading. Had a lot going on. I hope I can catch up. I am interested in seeing your Book Tag.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Good morning Kathleen. I just wanted to thank you so much for reading my entire blog. What an honour and a privilege to be complimented in this way. Thanks once again. I really appreciate it! I’m busy catching up with all my comments, so have not had a chance to read as much of your blog as I’d like to, but I promise I will soon.:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I try to read at least some every day. If I can read all of it, the better. I feel I owe to everyone that likes my page. Now I will probably have to come back to you later, because I am now trying to finish up another follower. I was moved by your material very much. I feel like I know you. It’s good to connect that way. If everyone did that, the world would be a better place.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am speechless at the wonderful compliment that you have paid me Kathleen. That is so lovely! I’m all for the world being a better place. I’ll be over soon to read more of yours and to get to know you better. 🙂 Thanks again for making me feel that my blog is worthwhile and that people are able to take from it what they need: which is what I set out to do.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. You are more than welcome.I really enjoyed your material immensely. I would really like to meet you someday. It would be nice to do that. My stuff is a mixed bag. It’s all poetry. I would like to write about other things such as politics, social issues, and just light hearted stuff that people can connect and identify with. I think everyone should do their best to know and try to understand other people. We need diversity, that is what gives us strength.

    Like

Leave a Reply

