Scathed

 

None of us go unscathed,

untouched by hurt and sorrow.

In showers of tears I’ve bathed,

 falling drops, more tomorrow.

cryyyy

Wounds are bleeding,

healing seems inconceivable.

Immune now to needing,

love; no more seems believable.

heart

No more, never again,

will I allow myself to feel that pain,

of what had been.

I don’t need love, I abstain.

leave

Close the door, shut the window tight,

so no one can enter.

Had I hindsight,

I would have known better.

unscaarh

Come unraveled,  which once was entwined,

 those scars haven’t healed.

The stars only shine, to remind,

that my fate was sealed.

scathec

I’ll stay away and play it safe,

be immune to any ones touch.

I’ve given up and lost faith;

love hurts too much.

surrend

©2016 Kathleen Stefani and Combing  The Catacombs. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express written permission from the site’s author is strictly forbidden.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to, Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs, with appropriate and specific direction to the original con

16 thoughts on “Scathed

      1. No-one is better or worst. Hemingway, Kosinski and Donne. All legends of writing. Each different and wonderful. Each of us had lived different lives. I wanted the Heningway life. Some of us wanted less.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Yes that is an excellent point that you make. I just think there are some books and writings that shine more than others. They touch you more and stay with you. That doesn’t always happen.I beleve every author brings to their work a part of their lives, real and imagined. Many of them had demons, their demons their inspiration. Everyone goes through trials in their lives, but they have the gift and the need to compile their thoughts. Hemingway is a great example, a genius who lived life on his own terms. To have lived the life he did, would be a real journey of ups and downs, but you need the downs to appreciate the ups.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you simpledimple for your kind words. My goal is to share and relate my experiences, both good and bad. For me it is liberating and cathartic. It helps me re-examine events and times in my life, and gives me some sort of perspective. I also know that I am not alone, and reaching people who also have had theses feelings gives my spirits a tremendous lift. I hope every ones are lifted.

    Like

  3. Beautiful! I am in awe that you wrote this in one night. It seems that it takes months for me to write one poem, and it is so heart wrenching for me. That is why I stick mostly with prose. Poetry is so raw and personal. I am always amazed at people like you, who are able to let it flow naturally and share it with the world. Thank you for this!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It doesn’t always happen that way, some are easier than others and I have to work with them and re-write and edit until I am happy, and even then I am never completely happy.
    Now prose, that is one thing I can not write. To me that is harder. I guess some people have an easier time with certain styles. I guess it’s whatever your comfortable with. I do get dry spells and I am in one right now. I have nothing. Totally blank.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I do that too! I’ll go several months sometimes writing every day in my journal, but have nothing worthy of posting and then at other times I’ll have one idea after the other that seems to pour out of me. I think that might be normal. (As if I could really be normal in any way… ha!) It’s difficult when you’re trying to write a book or keep reader interest in a blog, though, and I’m trying to do both right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do the exact same thing. When I have writers block, I am against a wall. The something opens up and I just can’t stop. I have notebooks full of incomplete pieces, that I could work on if I wanted to, and I really should, but I usually work on one, once the flow is going. This is the longest I have gone, but I have other projects that I am into, and I am also trying to catch up on reading other peoples blogs.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

