A Not So Perfect Picture Postcard Town

Waxing with nostalgia for the good old days,

far away from the rat-race, living at a slower pace.

Walking down the boulevard, window shopping, dreamily at the displays,

you knew your neighbors, doors were unlocked, you felt safe.

window        doort  boule

A picture perfect postcard type of town,                                                                                   picket 5

with tree-lined streets and white picket fences.

high school homecoming queen wearing her crown,

old men swapping tales on park benches.

Warm evenings, sitting on porch swings, sipping iced teas and lemonades,

summer time barbeques, and picnics in the park;

marching bands at holiday parades,

street lights, a reminder to come home before dark.

Candy stores on the corner, and ice cream trucks,buck

kids riding bikes and flying kites.

You could buy a lot back then for a buck,

when it was baseball, apple pie and the stars and stripes.

Sunday drives and drive-in shows,

we took a trip to the moon and back;

but it wasn’t all sunshine and rainbows,

the moments, weren’t all Kodak.

They were out of focus and askew,

secluded and secure in their hamlets, safely tucked away,

from the streets where turbulence brew.

nonchalant, they went about their day-to-day.

In that little haven, that tight-knit community,

they could in no way, shape or form; imagine or admit,

that their idyllic lifestyle of credulity,

was an illusion, wholly counterfeit.

It had always been there; out of sight, out of mind,

across the tracks, on the other side of town.

A confederation of the deaf and blind,

all’s well; while they’re dancing away, oblivious at the hoe-down.

© 2016 Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express written permission from the site’s author is strictly forbidden.
Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to, Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
16 thoughts on “A Not So Perfect Picture Postcard Town

    1. Thanks so much for the compliment. It is greatly appreciated. I entered this in a contest; the theme was community. I liked it up until the last line. I did not like the hoedown line. Thank you for commenting. It’s nice to know someone is reading.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. I’m here too reading! I liked the way your poem followed along with the images. A snapshot through history. I’m delighted to have found you at my place too – thank you for the follow 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you very much for your kind words. I appreciate them . I haven’t been keeping up pace with my writing. I start something and don’t finish it. I need to be a little more diligent. I’ve written a couple in a similar vein. I like history, and the sense of time sweeping and changing us and our world.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you. I have had good responses to this piece. I hope that with the current state of life here in the US, we can come together. We can do more together, than constantly at war within our own communities.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Thank you Tammi, I don’t remember if I ever answered you. I appreciate the comment and kind words. I have found myself writing more socially relevant pieces. I never thought I could express myself in a way in regards to important issues, but I seemed to have found a niche, I don’t know how long it will last, after I write each one, I don’t think I can do another.

      Like

    1. Apple, again you make me feel like I have reached someone. The time you take to comment on my pieces means a lot, you inspire me to keep going on. I mean,knowing someone is reading and feels a certain way and is affected really is what keeps me going, so many times I don’t feel like I have it in me to finish what I start. Your words are much appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have so much that I have started and never finished. I hope I can get to those drafts. I have a problem with starting something, not finishing it and starting something else. Sometimes I just lose it and can’t get a thought to come out. I hit a roadblock, and it takes me awhile to get back on track.

    Like

  3. Thanks Apple, by the way, since we have been conversing so much, you can call me Kathy. I got that name, Grevisangel, from a record that I liked by an artist that has a cult following. I did not spell it right because someone else already had the correct spelling.

    Like

  4. I loved the read!! So beautiful. Your thoughts very passionately poured down through your words and connected with the readers☺
    The good old days reminded me of a story called ‘The Third Terminal’, about New York metro which has only 2 terminals, but sometimes the 3rd terminal opens which is a time portal to the good old days☺

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks Mithai, that sounds like an interesting story. I will have to check that one out. I wrote this piece for a poetry writing contest with a theme centered around community. I wanted to paint a pictue of the good old days, which in hindsight may have not been so good if we are to look under closer examiniation. We tend to romanticize what is gone, but we don’t really look at the whole picture, only the selected fragments that we choose. They tend to be ones that make our memories see only the good, when the reality is usually much different.

    Like

Leave a Reply

