Dim And Distant

When your dreams fade,

and become distant and dim.

Slipping away, in a mist; they evaporate,

asleep or awake, are we ever certain?

 

When a friend can’t be found,

all that remains consistent,

when you’re down, no one wants you around.

How quickly they become dim and distant.

 

When you’ve lost fortunes favor,

and hope seems distant and dim.

With each step you feel yourself waver,

as if you’re hanging by a limb.

 

When love feels so out of reach,

just a longing , dim and distant.

No matter how long, how far and wide you seek,

when you find it, you’ll know fulfillment.

 

Distant and dim is the shore, 

capsized by angry waters,

dark skies and screaming winds; we defy, we ignore.

That’s the pride of man, all his sons and daughters.

 

When all hope is gone,

and the only light is dim and distant.

There will be another dawn,

and a sunrise, bright and magnificent.

 

 

© 2016 Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express written permission from the site’s author is strictly forbidden.
Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to, Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Dim And Distant

  1. Thanks, Dagmar.
    I haven’t been writing much for my blog. I have been concentrating on a writing contest, and I am not really sure if I can post my entries on my blog. I wrote six for the contest, the subject is, community. They are giving ten, $500 prizes.
    I wasn’t really happy with this one. In my mind, I had envisioned it differently, the composition, and rhyme pattern was not working the way I wanted it to. I should have worked more on it, but it wasn’t coming, I have had writers block also. I have many pieces started, and need to work on them. That seems to be my problem. I will start one, and wind up working on another, and I don’t finish either.
    I appreciate your kind thoughts and words..
    I would like to be able to contribute a piece every day, and not limit myself just to poetry. With the exception of one post about Carl Sagan, that is all I have written. I am not confident enough to write short stories, nonfiction, or commentary. I would like to expand my literary horizons.

    Like

  2. I think having lots of different pieces on the go can be good, then there is less pressure to finish one and if you get bored of one you can skip to another.
    You shouldn’t be down on yourself about writing stories, you can write dramatic lines and create imagery, that’s all you need to write a story. Good luck with your writing, you’ll do great. 🙂
    (I think you’re right about competition entries, it’s not a good idea to post them on a blog)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks inkbiotic, it’s funny because, I will have all these ideas rushing around in my head. I will start one, and then I lose the flow, then I am starting another. Sometimes I will think of something when I am driving, or even in the shower, and I have to try to remember it. I keep a notebook by my bed and I’ll write something down while I am trying to sleep. I use the light from my cellphone to see. When I get up in the morning, I go to read it and I can’t make any sense of it.I have notebooks full of ideas, half written pieces, and lines, and titles.
      I did use two of my blogs for the contest. I don’t know if that was a good idea. as you were saying. I have several of those going as well.
      I understand what you mean about not writing the stories, or other fiction, nonfiction, commentary, and reviews, but I would really like to progress and extend myself if I can. If not, at least I have these, which are still little bits and pieces of me, expressing myself. I have created something that at a particular moment inspired me, and the end result being, what is written on that blank paper from my pen.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Be patient with yourself Grevisangel. It sounds like you’re doing everything right, it just takes a little time to make sense of things. Keep writing the ideas down, experiment with different types of writing, keep blogging. You have talent and drive, that’s what you need, but sometimes our heads get a little jumbled and it can be difficult to make sense. Take it slow, let the writing finds its pattern. Wishing you peace of mind, my friend. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks inkbiotic,having the support and encouragement from fellow writers means very much to me. As an aspiring blogger/writer, it is nice to get that feedback from others who have more experience. My confidence is boosted every time someone comments and offers the support. and just knowing that I have that community is reassuring.
    At some point, I will make inroads and hopefully develop more skills, and can expand into other areas. I would like to do that very much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

