The Road To Happy

The  road to happy is strewn with debris,debris

and many a casualty.

It happens when you hit the asphalt,

onward and away you vault.

At a cross roads, you come to an intersection.

not sure, which way’s the right direction.

right

Gather your wits together,

the road must take you somewhere better.

It’s a journey, where you have to follow the signs,

to make sense of the riddles and rhymes.

Dreams every one chases,dec

decisions to be made on a daily basis,

life moves on, it doesn’t take a hiatus.

Leave with high hopes, full of expectations,

only to face hardship and frustrations.car road

You started down this road,

with every thing neatly packed and stowed.

All the baggage of the past,

always felt like an outcast.out cast

Keep pushing on at a steady pace,

trying to find that happy place.

Is there one; at best, it’s a maybe.

We try so hard to make it be,

all-inclusive, uniquely exclusive;  but oh so elusive.

We search and pine,

for that one, that is true and genuine.union

That other half of us, that makes us whole,

two true spirits of the soul.

The road to happy, is there such a thing,

as long as we thirst, we’ll search for that wellspring.

road wellspring happy

© 2016 Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express written permission from the site’s author is strictly forbidden.
Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to, Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
12 thoughts on “The Road To Happy

    1. Hi Angana, Your kind words are well appreciated, and your compliment inspires me to continue. I have been forunate starting this blog with my writing, and have it make an impression on others. That is every writers goal. I am very happy that you liked this. I will check out your blog, which I am sure I will find to be praise worthy as well.
      Thank you, so very much.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. I like your take on the eternal quest for fulfillment and happiness, like a lost paradise we are trying to regain… I love the lines: When you started down this road,with every thing neatly packed and stowed. All the baggage of the past, always felt like an outcast.’
    We have to let go of the baggage as we move forward. That elusive place is inside of us and all the outer journeys only take us closer to it if we allow them to…
    have a great week,
    Dagmar

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comments and compliments. You summed up what I was trying to express.It is a really satisfying feeling, coming up with a good line that days so much, they are not easy to come by. I do find that theme of a quest, of something lost, universal, and it appeals to me. It opens up doors and allows you to enter.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, moonskittles. I appreciate the comment. In my writing, I try to see life, and all it’s conditions: good and bad, hopeful and desperate. I like the theme of duality. I don’t always choose that as my theme. Much of what I am writing is an exploration of myself.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the compliment. I am glad that you liked it. I like that line, “paved with little steps and lots of bravado”. You should use that in a future composition. Now I am thinking I missed something, and it is incomplete.

    Like

Leave a Reply

