Ascension

combing the catacombs

If I could  ascend to the skies,

I would take wings and arise.

Far beyond the horizon I would soar,

searching from heights above,

with sights on finding my one true love.

Abandon these walls, to be confined no more,

escape from this place,

To the arms and comfort of your embrace.

If like the wind, I could run,

my feet would carry me fast.

Time being but so brief, I would waste none,

treasure the moments, that they would last.

They’s be more precious than gold,

I’d never let go of one so dear.

So tightly I would hold,

in your arms, I know secure.

View original post

2 thoughts on “Ascension

  1. That is true, I believe we can all fly if we chose. In a metaphorical sense, we can escape the walls that hold us in, no matter the circumstances. If we set out minds to it, and if we believe, and have hopes and dreams, we can do anything, even what seems impossible. In the context, I wrote this piece, I was caged and imprisoned, and I was dreaming of escaping, so in a sense I was free, even though I was imprisoned. I don’t know if you have seen the film, “Shawshank Redemption”, but there is a scene in that film where the character has that feeling, even though he is locked up, having to face abuse and mistreatment, yet he still has hope.

    Like

Leave a Reply

