I’m A Goner

That’s  it, I’m done,  I’m a goner,

If only I were stronger.

Can’t hold on too much longer,

I’ve lost this campaign.

I surrender, I’ll never be the same.

Wandering aimlessly down memory lane.

My purpose, my plan,

all I ever wanted to be was your man.

Now you’ve let me go and cut the ties,

never even got to say our goodbyes.

All the drinking I do, doesn’t make it stop,

I could drink until there wasn’t a drop;

I’d still feel like this,

A haze of drunken  bliss.

I see your face and am reminded,

I wish my eyes were blinded.

I can still hear your voice,

I’d rather be deaf,  if I had the choice.

Memories I can’t escape from,

the end would be a welcome.

I will greet it,  and be released,

I’m bitter, but at least,

I can put to rest this beast.

The hardest part,

of having this broken heart,

is letting go, falling into an abyss.

I’m alone, no more accomplice,

my partner that completed me;

that  warmed me like a glove,

left me broken and defeated.

Rejected my love !

All that I once believed,

every hope and dream, that I ever conceived,

they’re done, I’m a goner.

If only I were stronger,

can’t hold on much longer.

I’ve lost this campaign,

I surrender, I’ll never be the same,

wandering down memory lane.

 

© 2015  Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express written permission from the site’s author is strictly forbidden.
Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to, Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “I’m A Goner

      1. I actually wrote this for my nephew, who had also broken up with his girlfriend at the time. He was in bad shape, having had been having problems with alcohol and drugs as well. I also wrote Devil’s Dance for him.

        Like

  1. It’s good to be critical. I am myself. We are all here to learn and are just looking for constructive criticism. Feel free to comment anytime. Only thing that matters is to not give up. Nobody really knows the ins and out of it anyway. 😉 looking to read more of your work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I need the encouragement. I have a lot of ideas, but I feel like I am limiting or restricting myself, I feel like my style keeps me from expanding or experimenting. I always feel like I have to follow a certain structure pattern and I can not waiver from that. I would like to try free form

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the encouragement. I will keep on pegging away. Never give up. Thank you again. You are right about the constructive criticism. Right now I am just posting ones I already wrote. I have others in progress, but I want to put these out first.

    Like

Leave a Reply

