My Lucky One

I’ve been pinching pennies,

saving nickels and dimes,nickels-dimes-pennies-7832055

I’ve had enough, already !

waiting for these so called better  times.

I’m not a lucky one,

been waiting for a sign,

that my time has come;

to be that lucky one.

 

  There’s a jackpot to be had,slot-machine-jackpot-20079924

but I haven’t found it yet.

All my luck’s  been bad,

that’s  a sure bet.

I’m not a lucky one,

I’ve  been waiting for a sign,

that my time has come;

to be that lucky one.

 

I found a dollar billdollar-bill

it was blowing with the leaves.blowing-leaves

Wasn’t that much, but it was still a thrill,

who said money doesn’t grow on  trees.money-tree

It’s my lucky one,

maybe it’s my sign,

my time has come;

I’m a lucky one.

 

My spirits are high,

and  I’m on  a roll,

I saw you walking by;PersonalSpace

I didn’t  have to be told.

You’re my lucky one,

you were that sign.

My time has come,

no doubts have I, I’m a lucky one.

 

© 2015  Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express written permission from the site’s author is strictly forbidden.
Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to, Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Lucky One

    1. I love the optimism of this poem, it is so important to look on the positive side of life, even or especially when things are very dark. I had a nervous breakdown last year and was doing crazy OCD checking rituals 10 hours a day till 5am in the morning. But every time I had a tiny improvement in the OCD, just like your dollar bill, was a joyous moment. http://bit.ly/1ER5cLY

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for the compliment.My writing usually reflects my mood at the time. I believe the very next one I wrote, is the exact opposite. It is titled “No Such Luck”.I have to be honest with you, I am a pretty pessimistic person for the most part, but the day I wrote that one, I was walking down the street and found the dollar bill, and it was blowing with the leaves. I had to chase it. I think we all struggle at times with optimism, and pessimism. I understand exactly what you are going through. I am and have been having a really tough time for the last several years. The writing helps me a lot. Creativity stimulates your brain, and has many beneficial effects. I appreciate what you said and I am glad that you got something out of it. I am glad to be able to reach someone.

        Like

      2. Oh, I forgot,I don’t know when you actually read that, but I had pictures on it and all of my other stuff, but I did something and deleted them all. I have to go back through all of them and put new ones in. I will never be able to remember what I originally had up on there.

        Like

Leave a Reply

