Dreams In A Thicket

 

I ventured on a walk,  and grew weary as I found myself deep in a thicket.

I remember the sun was sinking low,  and  the song of a singing cricket.

I awoke in a forest maze, suddenly my eyes locked in a gaze,

with an enchanter,  in this dark wooded place.

I couldn’t tell from looking at his face,

if I was bedazzled or bewitched.

Was  I to be robbed or enriched ?

I heard a flute, the sound floating  in the wind,  and a whisper in my ear,

the words like a dream unclear.

I could not move,  speak  or run,

not a sound from my mouth would come.

I heard a hound in the distance,

I gave in, released without resistance.

Fear was vanquished,  suddenly gone,

Night had taken flight,  and turned to dawn.

I don’t know how  much time had passed,

in the same thicket, I awoke at last.

I have seen him again in my dreams,

I don’t know what it means.

I feel safe and have come to anticipate,

no longer afraid, I welcome and await,

for him to pay a visit.

Whether it be for an hour or for a minute.

Is he a ghost, something I imagined in my mind?

Someone from another place and time,

our paths crossing somewhere in between,  crossing-paths-300x225

a door that opens on occasion to intervene.

I will turn around one day in a crowd,

and what wasn’t supposed to be,  will be allowed.

The constraints of time we are bound to,

will come undone, and I will find you.

 

© 2015 Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express written permission from the site’s author is strictly forbidden.
Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to, Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Dreams In A Thicket

    1. Musicgoddess, thanks I appreciate that. I was actually inspired by the lyrics of Led Zepplein.You are the first person that has commented on anything I wrote.I am always critical of whatever I write, so to me I don’t think it is that good, especially after reading what others write.

      Like

Leave a Reply

