Devils Dance

How the devil would revel, if I were gone,

he’d do his dance and sing his song.

I’ve used and abused, turned to drink and other stimuli,

to take me out of this world.

Lost my mind, got twisted and hurled,

this craving, I can’t satisfy.

Between the bottle and the pills,

it’s  a battle of wills.

No contest, who that winner’s going to be,

it’s the only thing I see with perfect clarity.

I could blame the devil,

we’re on close terms, you could say we’re related.

My demons, are ones I created,

the playing  field’s always been level,

The wounds are old and deep.

I climb a mountain, trying to reach the peak,

get dizzy looking up, go tumbling down,

get up shaky, stumbling around, no solid ground.

On this downward spiral,

there’s no stopping, not even for awhile.

Reach for comfort in a can,

wash it down with a swallow.

But I wind up right back where it all began,

memories of you, leave my heart empty and hollow.

Can’t forget it, can’t fight it,

too long, to far gone to right it.

The despair and sadness,

too much to bare, drives me to madness.

Greet tomorrow and every day,

the same destructive way.

The good and bad in me collide,

may as well toss a coin to decide.

I’m the architect of my own crucifixion,

the hammer and nails ease my affliction.

I’ve followed a twisted path,

left so much damage in the aftermath.

Is there light at the tunnel’s end?

To let go, free myself and ascend.

Cleanse and renew; never give up hope,

I’ve been pushing the envelope.

In time tears will dry, the hurt will fade.

The devil wants his due,

he wants his chance, to dance his dance with you.

Turn away, and let it rain on his parade,

the devil plays to the beat of his own drum.

If you listen, no good will come,

he’ll whisper in your ear,

“I can make it go away, come over here”

Tempting with relief and riches,

he’ll offer you all your wishes.

The deal he pitches, comes at a cost,

if you listen, you’ll find yourself forever lost.

© 2015  Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express written permission from the site’s author is strictly forbidden.
Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to, Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
One thought on “Devils Dance

Leave a Reply

