Looking for My Carl (Calling To the Cosmos)

 

carlsagancosmiccarlCarl-Sagan-1970

Carl_Sagan-Biography_Pt_2.flv_thumbnail_2

sagancarl-sagan-new-1

I’m looking for my Carl,

someone aiming for the stars.

No matter how high, the sky’s the limit,

I’ve counted the years, days and hours, down to the minute.

I used to believe in the man on the moon, and the face on Mars,

it was science that came to the conclusion,

they were only an illusion.

I longed to find a way to him,

I never gave up hope, even when it seemed dim.

I’ve been patient, I’ve had to forestall,

but there was always the cosmos to enthrall.

I  know he’s out there, among the multitude.

When I gaze above looking with wonder,

it’s with humility and gratitude,

at the vastness and sheer number;

a backdrop on the grandest scale.

I know that somewhere, he is looking upward to,

and that Providence will prevail.

Until that day, I feel the cosmos call,

I am part of it and don’t feel so small.

There will be hurdles to overcome,

I will face them one by one.

Knowing that each step brings him nearer.

his presence will become clearer.

Somewhere in the stars, we were singled out,

we will know with a look, that this journey we undertook,

on this spinning blue ball;

the cosmos was the reason for it all.

Then you will point out to me the constellations,

we will engage in deep conversations.

I may not fully comprehend how it came to be,

such complexity, such beauty, such an unknown mystery.

But how grand it would be to befall,

and I have the cosmos to thank for it all.

carl-sagan-ann-druyan-saintly-macaques_scruberthumbnail_1

© 2015  Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs.

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express written permission from the site’s author is strictly forbidden.
Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to, Kathleen Stefani and Combing The Catacombs, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
One thought on “Looking for My Carl (Calling To the Cosmos)

Leave a Reply

